On Forks, Knives, Plants and Animals

I just lost a long post about my recent health research into plant-based diets. Note to bloggers, WordPress doesn’t auto-save drafts. You must actually click Save Draft. 🙂

Anyhow, over the last year, I’ve been on a mission to live a healthier, happier, more fulfilling life. I mean, really, who doesn’t want that? Along the way, I started running, exercising regularly, lost some weight, began drinking Shakeology, started coaching others on health and wellness, and researching nutrition. My nutrition research has led me to conclude that plant-based whole foods are the healthiest fuel for my body.

Among all the varying voices out there in the diet/health conversation, I don’t think you’ll ever find someone that says eat fewer vegetables. Am I right?

So, starting today, I’m moving toward a plant-based diet. I won’t claim to be vegan or even vegetarian because I know it’s going to be a process to change how I eat. I’m also not doing this for ethical reasons where I’d cringe at the thought of eating animal flesh. I’m coming at this from a health perspective primarily, with a little bit of hippie mama thrown in. (I think it’s environmentally healthier to eat plant-based foods as well.)

I’ll share some of the winners from my recipe explorations here. And I’m really hoping the blogging community will help me figure out how to get my kids to eat a little healthier too. My daughter, in particular, is anti-veggie and pro-dairy. 🙂

If you’re interested in what I read, watched and saw that helped convince me, here’s a short list of stuff I’d recommend you check out.

Food Inc. 
Forks Over Knives
Crazy Sexy Diet
The China Study
Green Mama 

One thought on “On Forks, Knives, Plants and Animals

  1. Pingback: Plant Based Diets « The Politics of Food

Leave a Reply

