My Post-Mommy Girlfriends

I read this (awesome) post yesterday from Kim at My Twinstastic Life, and it got me thinking about my group of girlfriends. I’ll be the first person to admit that, before kids, I didn’t really value the importance of my girlfriends. That’s why I don’t have any lifelong friends, and I’m not close with many of my high school or college friends anymore. Quite honestly, that makes me sad, and I know it’s my own fault for not putting forth the effort to keep in touch when our lives took different turns. But I digress…

After I got married and settled down into adult life, I realized I was lonely. I had a great husband, was working my professional life and had many acquaintances, but I yearned for close girlfriends who were in a similar stage of their lives, with similar values and goals. I prayed for a long time that God would bring just one strong Christian woman into my life as a friend. And as God is wont to do, he didn’t disappoint.

Over several years, I developed an awesome group of girlfriends. One, in particular, I know was handpicked by God to help me navigate the world of infertility treatments, IVF, twin pregnancy and parenting twins. (H, yep, I’m talking about you!)

My girls, as I like to affectionately call them, have saved my sanity on more than one occasion. From those panicked parenting calls in the early days, to commiserating when my kids were going batshit crazy for no discernible reason, to reassuring me that I would live through the tyrannical three’s….they’ve been there for me, and I’ve done the same for them.

As our close-knit circle has grown, I’ve realized that God has put each one into my life for very specific reasons.

The Straight Talker: I’ve touched on the importance of H in my life already. I consider her the straight talker of our group. She has the most kids, and she’s the perfect girl to ask for advice. As she’ll tell you, she’s the most normal person she knows, so of course, she’s the most qualified to give advice! She was my lifeline through infertility and twin pregnancy. And she continues to give me reality checks when I start to obsess over silly things, like whether my kids should go to summer school to get prepared for kindergarten. (If you’re curious, the answer is no. They’re already in full-time day care!)

The Bleeding Heart: My girl B is the most compassionate, caring person I know. She has a heart for the world, and I’m lucky that that includes me and my kids. She, unknowingly, challenges many of my beliefs and gives me the confidence to try new things, like organic gardening and eating meatless meals regularly. With an older son and a daughter the age of my twins, she also provides me with much-needed perspective. I still remember all the pep talks she gave me when I was going through a particularly difficult time with dealing with my tyrannical three-year-olds.

The Life of the Party: J is a force to be reckoned with. Never one to sit still or cautiously dip her toes into life, she blazes full-force into all that she does. J makes sure we’re all having fun regularly, and challenges us to do some pretty crazy things. (Bikini wax party anyone?) She’s my running buddy, my encourager and my fellow coupon diva. She’s also crafty, a trait I am sorely lacking. But I forgive her for that. 🙂 She’s also my go-to girl for advice regarding my son’s special needs, IEPs and therapy. I know she was handpicked by God for our little sorority, and I know she’s going to make an amazing mom.

Do you have a group of girlfriends that you can’t imagine life without? 

2 thoughts on “My Post-Mommy Girlfriends

  1. Well- as a part of this group I have to say I completely agree with you 😉 I think you got it all down except for how amazing of a friend you are to all of us! I agree- we were all deff put together for a reason!!! I can’t imagine my life without any of you girls in it. We have something special and I am so grateful! ❤ you all!!!

Leave a Reply

