How Not to Make a Water Table (Blast from the Past)

I started blogging back in 2008, and maintained a family blog for about a year. I’ve been revisiting some of those old posts and reminiscing about the earlier ages and stages of parenting my twins. Here’s one that made my laugh when I read it. Enjoy. 🙂

A few weeks ago, I got the idea that I could make a fun water table for the twins out of some household items. Basically, it’s just a container to hold some water and some toys for the kids to use to play with the water. What’s hard about that? I have tons of things that can hold water around the house.

I decided to use a Rubbermaid-type storage bin to hold the water. As I carried it outside, I was thinking to myself how darn smart I was to think of this idea. I was feeling like a total crafty resourceful momma. I should have known this was going to end not as I had planned once I got that crafty momma feeling. The last time I had that feeling ended in disaster… I attempted to make homemade play-do that turned out hard and crumbly.

So out we go to enjoy the sunshine and beautiful weather. I filled the tub up a bit, then turned around to put the house away. As I turned back around, this is what I saw:

At that point, I figured what the heck, let him play in the water if that’s what he wants to do. I took off his soaking wet shoes and let him go at it.

After awhile, they got thirsty and decided to have a drink. Again, I thought, what the heck. They’re kids; let them have a little fun!

While it may not have turned out as I had planned, it was still a lot of fun! Don’t worry though… I also got them a real water table that they are enjoying a lot!

Originally posted May 8, 2009

One thought on “How Not to Make a Water Table (Blast from the Past)

  1. That is hilarious! I keep saying I have to buy a water table, but my kids have just as much fun with a big tub of water. BUT I have learned to put it up a bit on one something first OR to use one too small for them to get into! They are adorable! I start to cringe when they eat snow, or drink water like that, but then remember they are kids and we did all of these things as kids too! I’m following you back from M&M, thanks for coming by my site!
    Kim
    My Twintastic Life

Leave a Reply

