Pink Sparkly Headbands

“Mommy, can you help me with my pink sparkly headband?” asked my four-year-old daughter Addison.

“Sure, sweetie. Here, put it around your neck like a necklace first. Good. Now, we need to pull it up over your forehead,” I said as I helped her put on her glittery hot pink headband.

“When I’m a mommy and I’m all grown up, I’m going to wear pink sparkly headbands all the time when I run races like you, mommy,” she said as she smiled up at me.

And that’s why I head out for a run after working eight-plus hours at my desk job and not seeing the kids since 7:30 that morning. Those 45 minutes when I’m out running–and not home with them–isn’t taking anything away from them. It’s actually giving them additional years with me as a healthy mom and hopefully giving them extra years to their lives because they’ll continue in a healthy lifestyle as adults.

One thought on “Pink Sparkly Headbands

Leave a Reply

