Whitmore Classic Race Recap

I have to admit, I wasn’t very excited about this race. It was a smaller, local race just a few weeks after the big Illinois Marathon weekend. It offered a half marathon and 5 mile race, and I decided to go for the 5 mile since I wasn’t sure how my legs would hold up to back-to-back half marathons.

I arrived at the race early, and marveled at the beautiful weather. Sunny, upper 60s and just gorgeous spring weather! I signed in and picked up my race swag. Instead of the typical t-shirt, this race provides microfiber running shorts. They ran out of my requested size (M), so I got XL instead!

The race began and for the first mile or so, the half-ers and the 5-milers ran together. Shortly after the half-ers turned off for their course, the 5-mile course started to get hilly. And when I say hilly, I mean HILLY! Ok, so maybe it wasn’t too bad, but considering I haven’t done any training on hills since last fall, I was feeling it. In a bad way. The sun was also beating down on my shoulders, and I realized this was my first real “warm” weather run.

I didn’t wear my Garmin, so I was running blind, so-to-speak. It was a weird feeling especially since i had set a goal to finish close to 50 minutes or under.  By mile 2-3, I was passing several runners, as is typical for me in races. I tend to start slow where others tend to go out too fast.

In the last mile, I was really pushing it because I had no idea how long I’d been running and  I was realizing how much I really did want to beat 50 minutes. The last mile was also flat, which helped. When I saw the finish clock, I started to sprint (well, sprint for me…it’s not that terribly fast). I was so focused on running hard that I forgot to look at the finish time when I crossed the finish line. D’oh!

I cooled down and enjoyed a delicious post-race breakfast of chocolate chip pancakes. I think it was the best post-race food I’d had so far. I hung out for a bit and chatted with running buddies, but then decided to leave before they announced the race results. As I was driving away, I realized I couldn’t find my cell phone, so I went back to the park pavilion to see if I left it there.

I didn’t, but while I was there, someone told me I won 2nd place in my age group! That never happens because, let’s face it, I’m slow. 😉 I picked up my awesome wood plaque, and set off, for the second time, for home. (And my phone was in my car, hiding between my seat and the center console.)

One thought on “Whitmore Classic Race Recap

Leave a Reply

