And this answers the second most frequent question I get about distance running. (The first question being, “You ran how long? Why?!?)

ZINNRUNNER

Caveat: As they say, a little bit of crazy is all right.

Recently a friend asked me: “What on earth do you think about while running for three hours??  All I can think about is how much I hate running, how far I’ve gone, and when the run will be over!”    Actually, I get this question quite a bit and it is a valid question.  After all, running is 60% mind and 40% body.  Your mind will give up long before your body will. What to do with that mind of yours?  How do you cope on long runs?  How do you cope on a day you need to run, but just don’t feel like it?  I used my 17 mile run a couple days ago to ponder these very questions (thanks, Ang for the mind candy!).  You should know that any actual answers to these questions do not exist…

View original post 948 more words

Leave a Reply

